Disappointing products

It’s inevitable that some products are going to over promise and under-deliver. Reasons for this vary, it could be that they’re suited to a different skin/hair type, marketing hype, personal preferences, priced unduly high, or generally, they just don’t do what they say on the tin. Here are a few that I have come across recently. Please do note though, that these are my own opinions and I am sure that some people will disagree and really enjoy using these products.

This works Perfect Cleavage Firming Lotion, £38 at Boots.com 

image

This product promised so much and honestly, for me, delivered not even a nicely hydrated décolletage! Unfortunately, in my opinion, most budget body lotions are better. I have been using it for a few months now (I must admit that it does seem to last forever) and my skin feels no more firm, soft or smooth than normal – and as someone who sleeps on their side, the cream has done nothing to reduce ‘sleep creases’ (if you know what I mean). I much prefer using Bio-oil on this area at night as it feels much more nourishing to me, and also helps with any pigmentation or uneven tone. The worst part for me is the price – it’s, quite frankly, outrageous – £38! In its defense the smell is OK, but I definitely wouldn’t recommend. Unfortunately, I must also add, that this is the second this works product that I have tried that has lead to disappointment. The first was their Perfect Skin Defense SPF30 (pictured below) which feels a lot like how I would imagine it feels to put cement on your face (!) – thankfully I believe they have now discontinued it. Phew.
image

 

Eyeko Skinny Liquid Eyeliner, £12 at Selfridges

image

It pains me to have to admit that I don’t like an Eyeko product, but it’s true. I must also mention that this is the second one of these that I have had, and both have the same problem – so this is not an isolated incident.

Their Skinny Liquid Liners are dry… right from the start.

That’s all I can really say – you can’t have a dry liquid eyeliner. It’s very frustrating, and a huge waste of money. Avoid.

NOTE: I really like a lot of other Eyeko products though, and they should pop up in some posts soon.

Trevor Sorbie Beautiful Volume Thickening Leave-in Conditioner, £5.40, here

image

Again not much to say here except that I don’t recommend that you buy this product. It was neither conditioning nor thickening, nor did I see any amount of volume. To top it off, the fragrance wasn’t great so I was left with tangled, flat, strange smelling hair.

I have noticed that they have changed the packaging, hopefully they have changed the formulation too!

Piz Buin Self Tanning 360 Multi-Positon Mist Spray For Legs, £7.73 Amazon

image

I was particularly excited about this product, as it’s for fair skins and promises a very light natural tan. In reality, although the product is easy to apply and spread around, the ‘self tan smell’ is particularly strong and had no colour pay-off what so ever. Instead I would recommend trying He Shi Express Liquid Tan, £20, as the colour is gorgeous, application is simple, has minimal smell and your tan lasts for days. There is actually a great Christmas gift available now where you can get the Express Liquid Tan and the tanning mitt in a cute silver bag for £18! Get it quick HERE.

Leave a Reply

