December empties

image

This month I have come to the end of some great products, all of which I recommend! (hence the rose petals)

Klorane Shampoo with Flax Fibre for Volume and Texture £6.80 (400ml) HERE

Klorane is a brilliant French pharmacy brand that unfortunately isn’t all that easily available in the UK, but most of the range is available on escentual.com, except this particular product!? But I have found it at a great price on the link above. I have issues in general with most volumising shampoos – you will know I wasn’t the biggest fan of L’Oreal Fibrology – see post HERE, as I feel that generally they don’t have much of an effect. This shampoo however does deliver on the promise of texture. I can definitely feel that my hair has more grip after use (if that makes sense), it’s less silky and slippery and is easier to style – so for me it’s a win. The smell is also AMAZING, and it’s a total bargain!

NUXE Body Contouring Oil for Infiltrated Cellulite, £23.50 at Lookfantastic.com

It’s incredibly difficult to assess the abilities of cellulite busting creams and potions. There are so many other factors that play a role in cellulite proliferation and reduction, including diet, exercise, massage and body brushing (I highly recommend the body brush from ELEMIS, £21) – it’s often hard to isolate what is working. I would suggest going all out with oils/creams/brushing as well as trying to drink loads of water (why not?). The problem is I think booze has an unfortunate negative effect on cellulite – so at the end of the day, if you like a drink like I do, it may be impossible to completely resolve or keep at bay.

Regardless of all that negativity, I really have enjoyed using this oil. It is quite thick in consistency and makes massaging in a real pleasure – you can really have a go! The smell is also really nice and refreshing (grapefruit and cedar), and it leaves the skin feeling toned and moisturised. My only slight reservation is that it doesn’t contain caffeine, but if that is essential for you, you could also try the NUXE Contouring Serum which does – note I haven’t tried this one.

Sanctury Spa Body Butter, £10 at Boots (300ml)

I love the smell of this range, and also use the shower gel and bath foam – LUSH! The body butter is light, but really hydrating (its contains both shea and cocoa butters) and sinks in without leaving too much oiliness on the skin. The texture and fragrance make it feel like a much more expensive product – love.

Shu Uemura Skin Purifier Cleansing oil, £30 at Selfridges

Cleansing oils have been part of my routine for the past 5 or so years, and I couldn’t imagine my bathroom without one! Shu Uemura cleansing oils for me have always been the original oils, and I have loved this oil right to the last drop. Their oils are expensive, but I find them to be incredibly light and emulsify into a beautiful milk, without leaving traces of oiliness or tightness behind – excellent.

I find that cleansing oils are especially fabulous if you have accidentally slept in your makeup (shame on you), or after a particularly long day of wearing make up and sunscreen, as a perfect pre-cleanse.

I am actually going to be trying a new cleansing oil next from South Africa, called Lipodol. The whole skincare range is oil-based, which is a first as far as I know, and will be launching into the UK soon. What is also interesting is that the range is from the makers of Bio-oil, so I have high hopes – I will report back soon!

NOTE that both Shu Uemura and Lipodol are based on mineral oil. For a cleansing product I see no harm in mineral oils being used, although they have recently, and unfairly I think, received a lot of bad press. If you are interested in the mineral oil debate, you can find lots of contradicting info online, but I have put a link here to a piece on Paula’s Choice Beautypedia in case you are interested: Is Mineral Oil Bad for Skin? But that’s only one side of the argument – it’s up to you!

2 thoughts on “December empties

Leave a Reply

